Six artists to receive Governor’s Award

The Mississippi Arts Commission will host its annual Governor’s Arts Award ceremony at Old Capitol Inn in Jackson Thursday night.

According to MAC, The Governor’s Arts Awards program signifies the important relationship between government and the arts.

The arts combine vision and creativity while enriching society’s cultural horizons. Established in 1988, the Governor’s Arts Awards recognize those who have made noteworthy contributions to, or achieved artistic excellence in, the state of Mississippi. The awards event is presented each year by the Mississippi Arts Commission in partnership with the Governor’s Office.

This year’s six recipients are:

    William R. Ferris – Lifetime Achievement
    Sammy Britt – Excellence in Visual Art
    Vasti Jackson – Arts Ambassador
    Lucy Richardson Janoush – Arts Patron
    Jaimoe Johnie Johnson – Excellence in Music
    Mississippi Opera – Artistic Excellence

You can be part of the evening at Old Capitol Museum, 100 S. State St., Jackson with a Public Reception starting at 4:30 on the 1st Floor  followed at 6:00 p.m. by the awards ceremony on the 2nd Floor in the House Chamber. The event is free and open to the public.

Most Popular